Liberty Bell Award

The Liberty Bell Award is awarded to a non-lawyer for outstanding service in one of these areas:

  • Promoting a better understanding of our Constitution and the Bill of Rights;
  • Encouraging greater respect for law and the Courts;
  • Stimulating a deeper sense of individual responsibility so that citizens recognize their duties as well as their rights;
  • Contributing to the effective functioning of our institutions of government, and;
  • Fostering a better understanding of the rule of law.

Past Recipients

1976 Dr. Robert H. Meneilly
1977 Lewis R. Lewis
1979 Dr. Stanley D. Roth
1987 Dr. Hugh W. Speer
1988 Gary Kretchmer
1991 Georgia Nesselrode
1992 Betsi Thurston
1993 Jean Pierce
1994 Marie Lerner-Sexton
1995 Raena Borth
1996 David K. Kaup
1998 Bill Breyfogle
2000 Don Pipes
2002 Charlotte Crane
2003 Peg Nichols
2004 Frederick A. "Fred” Krebs
2006 Timothy Mulcahy
2010 Sue Bond
2011 Kaye Cleaver
2013 Ken Thomas

2017 Annabeth Surbaugh
2018 Janee Hanzlick
2019 Ed Eilert


Deadline to submit nomination:

Oct 4, 2019